Pointing West Mercian
You Are Here: Pointing West Mercian > West Mercian Area Championships 2021/2022 > Previous Award Winners > Leading Rider (Male) Sponsored by Fisher German
Friday, 27th May 2022

Leading Rider (Male) Sponsored by Fisher German

The official list of winners for West Midland Area Championships can only be traced back to 1990, prior to that no records exist.
Although the 14 Point-to-Point Administrative Areas (of which the West Midlands is one) were created in 1972, no evidence has been found regarding any potential champions between 1972 and 1990.
During the period 1960 to 1971 no Administrative Areas existed, so the West Midland Area as it was subsequently created has been used as a framework during this period, so this is a purely academic exercise but does provide some recognition to the individuals concerned.
A certain amount of guesswork is involved as it is impossible to ascertain which hunts jockeys received their RQC’s from after a gap of nearly 60 years.
The current Championships are decided on a points basis, but in 1990 the criteria was “Winners ridden by West Midland jockeys at West Midland meetings”. This resulted in the following individuals being identified as Champions in the preceding years.
1960Henry Oliver & Patrick Sherwin
1961Roger Guilding
1962John Townsend & Roger Guilding
1963Harold Wellon & Roger Guilding
1964Roger Guilding
1965Henry Oliver
1966David Tatlow
1967David Tatlow & Roger Guilding
1968David Tatlow
1969Roger Guilding
1970Henry OIiver
1971Robert Chugg
1972George Hyatt
1973Colin Jackson
1974Robert Chugg
1975John De Lisle Wells
1976Joe Jackson Jnr
1977John De Lisle Wells/Peter Hobbs/Bob Woolley
1978John De Lisle Wells
1979Bob Woolley
1980Bob Woolley
1981John Weston/Nicky Bush/Bob Woolley/Tim Bowen
1982Bob Woolley & Tommy Jackson
1983Harry Wheeler & Tommy Jackson
1984Alistair Ulyet
1985Harry Wheeler
1986Anthony Steel/Alistair Ulyet/Jonathan Deutsch/Luigi Carenza
1987Anthony Steel
1988John Edwards
1989Alistair Ulyet/Damian Duggan/Dr Phillip Pritchard/Matthew Sheppard/Tim Stephenson
1990Harry Wheeler & Willie Bryan
1991Alistair Ulyet
1992Julian Pritchard
1993Julian Pritchard
1994Julian Pritchard
1995Julian Pritchard
1996Julian Pritchard
1997Julian Pritchard
1998Julian Pritchard
1999Julian Pritchard
2000Julian Pritchard
2001No Award due to Foot & Mouth
2002Julian Pritchard
2003Adrian Wintle
2004Edward Walker
2005Julian Pritchard
2006Adrian Wintle
2007Julian Pritchard
2008David Mansell
2009David Mansell
2010Mark Wall
2011Mark Wall
2012Mark Wall
2013Mark Wall
2014Mark Wall
2015Tom Weston
2016Leo Mahon
2017Alex Edwards
2018Alex Edwards
2019Alex Edwards

Latest News


  Positions with one meeting remaining  This new initiative which came in at the [..]


This new initiative which came in at the start of the 2021-2022 season rewards [..]

Our Sponsors